Good News

Last week I had my transplant evaluation, my coordinator Tracy told me she would call me in a week and tell me if I had been approved for transplant.What an emotional roller coaster this week has been. The night before he was supposed to call, was a long one. what would happen to me if I wasn’t approved? What if I am approved? How will life change while we wait for a donor heart. I finally had to remind myself that I am not in control and I need to get some sleep.

The next morning we didn’t have to wait long. She called around 9 or 10 to tell me the decision. It was I could do to keep calm and document all the information I was being given. “The committee has approved you for transplant. You will be listed as a status 2.” WOW.

Once I hung up the phone, I literally dropped to my knees and thanked God. Tears flooding from my eyes, I thanked him for yet another opportunity at life. I thanked him for helping get this far and told him I would do everything I can to turn this opportunity into a success. Once, I had a handle on my emotions I skyped with my husband. Trying to keep it together so I could speak legibly, I told him the good news. He also couldn’t hold back his tears of joy either. My whole family is excited for us and nervous at the same time.

I am already thinking of my donor and how it is so ironic that their family’s tragedy will be my family’s celebration. I pray for their comfort.

Leave a Reply

