Soul Mates

LLA

I believe Rumi said it best when he stated,

“The minute I heard my first love story I started looking for you, not knowing how blind I was. Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere. They’re in each other all along.”

I am so fortunate and grateful to have found my soul mate. So many people these days never find that connection. Our spark was instantaneous and strong. We complete each other. Our souls intertwine perfectly.

Although Bill was in the medical field, I was nervous about explaining my cardiac situation and future transplant.  You see, my first marriage sort of imploded partly due to the fact that my ex wasn’t mature enough to handle my illness. I never expected to find a man who would not only be accepting of my impending heart failure diagnosis, but would jump right in to the chaos with me. But that is exactly what Bill did, with a “bring it on” attitude.

My health stayed stable for the first couple years of our relationship, then it took a nasty downhill ride, like a skier on a black diamond slope. This was the start of his caregiver metamorphosis. He takes care of me in so many different ways, a loving approach and a no complaints. Sitting in on countless doctor visits and sleepless nights in uncomfortable hospital rooms, holding my hand through it all. And when everything seems to much for me to handle, he is at his best; holding me, wiping away my tears and whispering encouraging words. He restores my hope and faith.

We are grateful for everyday we have together, more than other couples it seems. We understand how precious life really is, how health can change in an instant. Our unity is strong, I know we can withstand anything that comes our way. My heart transplant is a perfect opportunity for us to grow stronger and deepen our love.

We chose each other long before we came to our Earthly bodies and we will be joined together again when we leave them.

6 thoughts on “Soul Mates

  1. Michelle, you are an awesome writer! Thank you for sharing your love and passion for life with all who follow you. There is a special bond between lovers and your writing shows that this is true. Thank you also for the Rumi quote. I learn much from his writings.

    Peace and Prayers

    Pat

    Like

  2. Michelle. Through a friend in Pennsylvania I’ve had a glimpse of that roller coaster ride you’re on. Sharon has been on the list then off again because her “refraction rate(?)” went up. I don’t understand much of it. And I’ve only recently discovered how truly blessed a person is to have a mate who has a care-givers’s heart. I was just diagnosed with Myasthenia Gravis and it has blind-sided us.

    But what we are going through pales in comparison. You have my hopes and prayers added to those of others who know and love you that a miracle is just around the corner. (And OML! Those quotations are exquisite. Sometimes I wonder how such sentiments can fall from a person’s mind and heart so stunningly!) Thank you so much for the follow. I will be keeping an eye on you. 😉 Calen~

    Like

  3. Chelle. I wish you well. Our family understands the waiting for the call is very stressful. I hope you get the call soon. May I ask 1. What CHD, were you born with ? 2. Your age? Sending Prayers your way. God Bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

